Minnesota Corn Research and Promotion Council seek candidates for four seats

Minnesota Corn Research & Promotion Council, which channels the voluntary check-off fund proceeds from every bushel of corn sold in Minnesota, is seeking candidates interested in running for four district representative positions. The Minnesota Department of Agriculture (MDA) will conduct mail ballot elections for the Barley, Beef, Corn and Soybean Councils in March.
Minnesota Corn Research & Promotion Council continues to reach out to the broader public with a message about the importance of agriculture, through promotional events, media advertising, and partnerships with a wide variety of major organizations across the state, such as Minnesota Twins Baseball.

The Council directs the funding of research projects on areas with an immediate impact on agricultural producers, like soil drainage and water quality research. The sum of these activities can be seen in the growing bottom-line for corn production in Minnesota. According to the Minnesota Department of Agriculture (2009) “Minnesota’s corn and ethanol industries support more than 70,000 jobs and contribute $12 billion to the state’s economy.”

Interested candidates should contact Minnesota Corn Research & Promotion Council at 952-233-0333 by the February 7, 2011 registration deadline.  These farmer/leaders will serve three-year terms directing the investment of their research and promotion council’s check-off programs.

Here are the geographical units covered by the MCR&PC representative 4 seats up for election:

–Districts I, II, and IV covers much of western Minnesota and includes Becker, Beltrami, Big Stone, Cass, Chippewa, Clay, Clearwater, Douglas, Grant, Hubbard, Itasca, Kittson, Koochiching, Lac Qui Parle, Lake of the Woods, Mahnomen, Marshall, Norman, Ottertail, Pennington, Polk, Pope, Red Lake, Roseau, Stevens, Swift, Traverse, Wilkin and Yellow Medicine counties. Districts I, II and IV are currently represented by Council Representative Dwight Mork, of Bellingham.

–District VII covers southwestern Minnesota and includes Cottonwood, Jackson, Lincoln, Lyon, Murray, Nobles, Pipestone, Redwood and Rock counties. MCR&PC Treasurer Richard Peterson of Mountain Lake currently represents District VII.

–District VIII covers south central Minnesota and includes Blue Earth, Brown, Faribault, Freeborn, Le Sueur, Martin, Nicollet, Rice, Steele, Waseca and Watonwan counties. Council Representative Jerry Demmer of Clarks Grove currently represents District VIII.

–District IX covers parts of south central and south eastern Minnesota and includes Dakota, Dodge, Fillmore, Goodhue, Houston, Mower, Olmsted, Wabasha and Winona counties. Council Representative Martin Amundson of Zumbrota currently represents District IX.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: